Magdelyn Ble
map-marker Brooklyn, New York

Won't send my money to my wife.I can't think they should tell me where to send my money.They wasn't even helpful with anything.a was There no sense in having a app you can't use.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Nothing app could not use a waste of time to get information in just too have some people making your your decision to send or not.a an aim very sound mind and Body. I'm going to bbb and file complaint against western union.So in the furture so no one else will have a problem .There was no email or anything to tell me why!!Frankie watters

View full review
Nancy S Sag

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Help !!! Need to talk to someone about a money bought. Now the police Co . Says they can’t help. So we’re stuck with 125.00 money order.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Western Union - Help !!! Need to talk to someone about a money bought. Now the police Co...
Western Union - Help !!! Need to talk to someone about a money bought. Now the... - Image 2

I again bought a money order for $125 and went to give it to the New Bedford Police Department, as that's who we made it out to. The police department says we don't need to pay $125 because what my husband was doing is now free. How do I get my money back from this $125 Western Union money order?

View full review
Cons:
  • Can not speak to a person when special assistance is needed
  • No personal contact

Preferred solution: Full refund

Stephen F Dui

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Trouble with a money order

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I bought a $500 money order from Walmart. When my cousin went to cash the money order he was told it contain fraudulent activity

View full review

Preferred solution: An explanation

Jaosn C

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Wayland, Massachusetts

Western Union error on funding

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Western Union error on funding
Western Union error on funding - Image 2

I paid for my money order, it was issues and mailed. Then denied by bank.

Checked with my bank and wal mart where I bought money order and no funds returned. The person I sent money order to cannot cash it. YOU screwed up and now I cannot get ahold of a live person to help.

Absolutely horrible customer service and after many many year of using your service, this will be the last time. *** poor in your part.

View full review

User's recommendation: Do not use this company. Absolutely poor customer service.

1 comment
Guest

YOU screwed up when you paid money for an essentially non-negotiable instrument. Nobody is under any obligation to accept any form of payment other than U.S.

currency which reads "This note is legal tender for all debts, public and private".

Everything else is just a gentlemen's agreement which has been rejected by another entity. That rejection is perfectly legal even though "they" won't tell you that.

Bria Enq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Yukon, Oklahoma

Frustrated

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Could not send money because rep was not knowledgeable enough about what to do and have used the company for years and now it has become frustrating and annoying

View full review

User's recommendation: Used for many years and now it’s hard to talk to a human being and that’s wro

Jennifer H Rtw

Track a money otser

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I purchased a money order and can't find the receipt stub. I'm being told I have to send them $30 in order to get a photocopy of it.

It seems like another way to get more money from a customer.

Also, you can't even talk to a live agent to get something taken care of. I will never again buy a Western Union money order or use them for anything.

View full review
Loss:
$250

Preferred solution: Copy of the money order I purchased

Jeanine V Cup

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Western union never sent the money to the person

I sent 79 euros eight hours ago, but the person never received the money. I want to cancel it now, but there's a problem with getting my money back.

View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: dont use western union

Josey M Uut

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Couldn't not complete a transaction that I have done 200 times the last 2 yrs

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 20, 2024

Canceled and got a refund

Updated by user Apr 20, 2024

Canceled and got a refund..

Original review Apr 20, 2024
For 2 hrs, I called customer rep 6 times as the receiver and did everything they asked ( from India, no American offices or workers evidently ) they required sender to call 4 times also to remove a block that somehow kept showing up til the end and still couldn't get my money.. 200 times before had no issue..

today required 2 hrs, me and sender jumping thru hoops with 6 calls from me, 4 calls from sender.. and they would not help me anymore.. they asked for sender to call once more to remove the block they kept putting on my transaction, but last call by sender was to cancel everything and refund our money.. did not like that we were at a dollar general to use their western union, they wanted me to drive an hr to their office to receive money so they didn't have to pay dollar general I guess..

couldn't fix the issue of me using DG, but no problem if I used their personal office.. canceled and will never use their service again.. especially since they send all customer problems to a country on the other side of the world and English is not their 1st language .really?? western union, founded by cowboys in old days..

but ppl in India handling all the problems.. not one American customer service office or American to help with an American problems ( no problem with race, problem is they don't know how America works... I would never act like I know problems ppl have in India..

smfh) never again and hope others see this and not use this company that saved money by using reps from India over paying Americans a fair wage to help americans.. pitiful..
View full review
Pros:
  • U can speak to mom english ppl across the world for free
Cons:
  • Unhelpful

Preferred solution: Anything except an apology.. ppl re trained.. jobs brought back to America..

User's recommendation: Never use Western Union til they hire Americans to help with American problems.. because the India reps did nothing helpful except wasting my time and my 78yr old mothers time..

Resolved
Jeanine V Cup

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province

Resolved: Refund

Western Union - Refund
Updated by user Mar 24, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. Western unio refund

Original review Mar 17, 2024

I sent money the 14 March 2024 on line but the MTN in Cameroun didn't work . The same day I called to cancell so I want my money back.

View full review
Jennifer H Rtw

Track a money otser

I couldn't get in touch with anyone to handle my situation. The recording says I have to pay to get proof of something I already purchased and paid for!

I purchased a money order last year and the business I gave it to is saying they never received it. I have to prove it, but no one answers to help.

View full review
Loss:
$250

Preferred solution: I want proof of the money order

User's recommendation: Don’t use them especially if you need to get proof that you purchased the money order

Kasegn L

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Al Ain, Abu Dhabi

Incorrect spelling of the recipient's name

Western Union - Incorrect spelling of the recipient's name

Hello, there. The recipient's first name interchanged with her grandfathers name, so I would like you to correct it.

Her name should be the same as the one in her ID card in order to receive the money.

I am looking for your swift response. Thank you.

View full review

User's recommendation: I recommend that everyone should write the recievers name as appear on their identity card.

Adrian S Uir

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Hacked

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user May 04, 2024

Tried the customer service number and it's no longer working

Updated by user May 04, 2024

I am not a paying customer they add info that is false

Original review May 04, 2024

I wrote a review on Western Union and someone hacked my account

No customer service and never reply .

View full review
Cons:
  • Hackers and no customer service

Preferred solution: My account deleted , someone hacked it and had my email and info

User's recommendation: Stay away

Diane r Ogm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

44815****

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Western Union - 44815****
Updated by user Dec 24, 2023

It was so good to have think u so much

Updated by user Dec 24, 2023

I love this order need this asap to ride on

Original review Dec 24, 2023

I need this asap and I love to have it to ride on street think u so much they really help me will well they was very nice I get I get the dirtbike for fun have a great day and a merry Christmas and a happy new year god bless yall so much good deal on it was a good help to me and my mom keep up the good work

View full review
Pros:
  • Speedy transfer of money online
  • Fast delivery when processing

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Amazon

2 comments
Guest

Think u so much for the nice post. Don't break your neck on your new toy.

If you do break your neck, don't come crying to me for help.

Dangerous high risk pastimes often have unhappy endings. I know.

Diane r Ogm

Think u so much for this dirtbike

View more comments (1)
Anonymous
map-marker Butler, Missouri

No one called me need more information from ne

I want to thank you for clearing up the issues for sending to someone and it cleared up 2 other issues I had with the money orders also. It has been resolved now and it worked out better going a different route

Thank you

If I need your services in the future I won't hesitate to use them.

View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Florissant, Missouri

Money order issue

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I purchased a money order on the 9th 10 days later because I no longer needed it decided to cash it in and my money order wasnt in the system which to me that is crazy if I purchased the money order, why wouldnt it be in the system?

View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Florissant, Missouri

Money order issue

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Customer service is very rude. Every time I try to explain my issue, the guy cut me off. Needs to improve on how to talk to people.

View full review

About

Related Companies

Western Union Canada

Summary

The Western Union Company is a financial services and communications company. The corporate office of the company is based in the Meridian, Colorado, and its international marketing and commercial services headquarters are in Montvale, New Jersey. At the beginning, the company was the best known US Company in the business of exchanging telegrams. Western Union has a number of divisions, with products such as person-to-person money transfer, money orders, and commercial services. The company has 270,000 Western Union agent locations in over 200 countries and territories. Western Union was founded in Rochester, New York, in 1851 as The New York and Mississippi Valley Printing Telegraph Company.

Western Union changed its name to Western Union Telegraph Company in 1856. Specific services include BidPay, Western Union Mobile.

Western Union reviews and complaints

Western Union is ranked 85 out of 259 in Cash Services category

Area Served

USA, Worldwide

Payment Methods

VISA

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article